【KaleidoMusicAlliance】Luo Tianyi – Jasmine Lullaby 茉莉依眠【English Translation】

Original: [bilibili] / [YouTube]

Requested by AngelChu. Thank you!

Presented by: KaleidoMusicAlliance (KMU)
Lyrics: 檀 (Tan)
Composition, arrangement, tuning: Yuu
Mixing: 小魔 (Xiao Mo)
Illustration: 阿废 Haiko (A’Fei Haiko)
PV: Raito

English Translation

一字换一伤 一句戏一场
一曲仅一唱 一人又怎样
若酒能断肠 饮一杯何妨
看河舟茫茫 听歌声朗朗

A wound for every word – a play for every line
I sing this song only once – how has the one I long for been?
If in wine I may finally let loose this heart filled with grief – then why not drink a cup?
I watch the boat adrift over the river – I listen to the song that resounds clear as day

挽一袖月光 渔歌断了腔
茉莉花放 独自留芳
素手执笔诗一行
宣纸染了墨色淌
犹如水微漾 

When a ray of moonlight has fallen, the fishes have stopped singing
The jasmine flowers have bloomed – filling the air with their distinct scent
With bare hands, I write a line of this verse
A blot of ink stains the calligraphy paper
Like the water, it seems to be making a light ripple

赏旧景彷徨 听不清囔囔
晚风起衣裳 青丝尽散扬
他年故友访 笑天高海沧
兴浓时举觞 憾寒夜太长

I revel in the scenery of old as I pace back and forth – I listen to unclear, unintelligible mumbles
The night breeze lifts this garment of mine – as fine black hair is scattered in the wind
An old friend from the past has come – taking joy in the far skies and the blue seas
In times of great celebration, we toast our cups – regretfully, we pass this chilling night for much too long a time

有一抹暗香 过枝静幽长
梨木划桨 惊对鸳鸯
裙角随秋风飘荡
闲来问津锣鼓巷
花瓣落一掌

A tinge of fragrance yet lingers, past the serene branches that stretch
A pair of paddles made of pear tree wood have startled a pair of ducks [1]
The edges of my skirt flows in the autumn breeze
In idleness, I ask where I may head to the alley with gongs and drums
Petals fall on the palm of my hand

好一朵美丽的茉莉花
好一朵美丽的茉莉花
芬芳美丽满枝桠
又香又白人人夸

What a pretty Jasmine flower,
What a pretty Jasmine flower,
Nice to see and nice to smell!
Praiseworthy scent, and white as well!
[2]

留一地浅黄 花谢无人想
夜幕苍茫 归入梦乡
安眠中淡了过往
那白日事都尽忘
前事作薄凉

As the land is left with a colour of pale yellow, the flower wilts with nary a one remembering it
The curtain of night is boundless – I return to a land of dreams
As I sleep in comfort, memories of the past surface
I’ve already forgotten about all that transpired in the daytime
The matters of the past have become as thin as mist

[1] This line is actually wordplay. The word 鸳鸯 “Mandarin duck” has been used in old Chinese poems to refer to husband and wife, i.e. a happily married couple. The paddles are made of pear tree wood, and in Chinese the word “pear” 梨 lí has identical pronunciation with the word “separate” 离 lí.
[2] This verse is the folk song “Mo Li Hua”. The translation is taken from the song’s page on Wikipedia and lacks attribution.

Leave a comment